Leaving the scene of an accident is wrong, particularly when people have been injured. In Tennessee, it is also illegal. A driver involved in a crash where someone has been injured or killed is required to provide a name and address and show his or her driver’s license if asked. Drivers involved in a crash are also required by law to help those injured get medical assistance.
Hit-and-Run Drivers in Tennessee
The penalties for hit-and-run drivers in Tennessee vary, depending on the nature of the accident.
- If anyone was injured in the crash, a hit and run could be charged as a Class A misdemeanor. Punishment can include up to 11 months and 29 days in jail, a fine of up to $2,500, and suspension of driver’s license.
- If the accident resulted in property damage only, drivers might be charged with a Class C misdemeanor, which is punishable by suspension of driver’s license, a $50 fine, and up to 30 days in jail. Penalties may depend on the dollar amount of the property damage.
- Drivers who were found to be under the influence after leaving the scene of an accident or who caused bodily harm or death will likely face additional criminal liability.
What to Do After a Hit-and-Run Accident
If you are involved in an accident resulting in injury or total property damage over $400, you must file a report with the Department of Safety within 20 days—even if the damage is only to your vehicle. Additionally, you should report the accident to your insurance company as soon as possible.
Have You Been Injured In A Tennessee Motorcycle Accident?
If you've been injured in a motorcycle accident you need to speak with an experienced motorcycle accident attorney as soon as possible. Contact us online or call our office directly at 615.220.4180 to schedule your free consultation. We will schedule a time to meet with you at one of our offices in Smyrna, Nashville or Murfreesboro—whichever location is most convenient for you.